The Danger of Treatment for Fibromyalgia

So I went and saw the doctor last week and we’ve adjusted my meds.  Never mind just what I’m taking, all I have to say is that I am feeling better than I have in…forever, it seems.  I feel more mentally awake and focused, the pain levels are receding to very bearable levels.  I want to do things!  And therein lies the danger.  I have not been active (enough) for the past few months to spring into the levels of activity I want.  But I do foresee changes in the house.  I can finally begin to clean up, straighten out, empty out, rearrange and generally get my house to move from storage shed to liveable.  I just have to remember to do it in small steps and rest frequently to avoid overdoing and cancelling out the medication’s effects.

I suspect that I will still tire very easily, since this new feeling of ability is probably much thinner than I think it is.  Got to do some training to get the muscles back into any semblance of strength.  And I don’t really mean “go to the gym and work out” kind of training.  I mean just the normal motions of housekeeping and daily living.  I am also feeling more mentally able, so there may be a spate of inspired writing.  Look out!

So for those of you who are still fighting to figure out how to deal with fibro, hang in there.  Work with your doctor(s).  Change your meds until you find the one/ones that work.  And it may take a variety of them, working together, to get you to a point where you can function like a real human being again.  Don’t give up, don’t despair.  There is an answer for you.  This may not be my final answer, but it is something that is working for me for now and that’s all I can ask.  It’s a whole lot better than what I’ve been doing.

So excuse me while I go do a few dishes and prepare to have my son, his wife and my beloved Froggy grandson come over and spend time with me today.  I feel more like me than I have in ages and I’m going to take advantage of it while I can.

Namaste!

One thought on “The Danger of Treatment for Fibromyalgia

  1. Trisha

    Feeling good enough to do stuff is very dangerous! I’m fighting the urge to start a spring cleanup around here. It’s so hard to not get going on it but I know I would suffer for it right now. Good for you for recognizing you still have limits without finding out the hard way! I’m glad to hear you’re feeling better. That’s awesome.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

