The Weekend is Here, But How Can We Tell?

One of the advantages about being disabled is that you can sleep when you want to, eat when you want to…and one day is pretty much the same as the day before. Only appointments make any scheduled order into this flow of time and that’s about the only way we can distinguish the weekend: there’s no appointments.

I got an appointment to see the podiatrist–and I’ll see him again in a couple of weeks to have a minor surgical procedure. He’s going to remove the edges of my big toe nails and touch the inner part of that removal with a chemical that will kill the cells that generate the nail. I’m looking forward to the end of ingrown toenails! I just can’t manage the angles needed to keep up with my own toes–and going to the podiatrist is WAY cheaper than having a pedicure. We’ve certainly had our share of appointments these past couple of weeks. Most of them just usual check up, follow up or weekly obligation. I saw my primary care giver last Monday. My labs came back within normal levels and we’re working on referrals for acupuncture and for a chiropractor. I had a video conference with the pain management team down in San Francisco–I’m their “trailblazer”, since I’m the first patient they’ve had the telecon with. We discussed all of my pain, how it comes and goes, what the Vicodin does (or doesn’t do) for me. The first and most important result of this conversation for me was the changing of my pain med. No more Vicodin for me–I’m on 15mg of morphine now. As far as I can tell, it works to get my pain a little lower than Vicodin, and the duration is 7-8 hours instead of 3-4. But since I’m only allowed one at night and one in the morning–and my days are longer than 7-8 hours, I’m having unmedicated pain for about 4-5 hours each evening.

The VA has a stair step of pain meds, and I’ve apparently been on a lower step. Vicodin is a short duration med; morphine is a longer one. I’m willing to bet that after I try drug after drug, getting a stronger dose each time…I’ll end up with the Fentanyl patch I requested in the first place. We shall see–and I shall keep you updated.

My parents gave me an inversion table for my birthday. It’s a Teeter EP-960 and it’s already helping, after only a couple of days of use. I’m hanging about twice a day–I want to add more, but being out of the house makes that hard. The folks also gave me the shiatsu/heated pad for the inversion table, so I lay on it while its rollers and such give me a very nice massage.

My oldest granddaughter, the Evil Genius (or EG) started kindergarten yesterday. I always tell young mothers not to blink their eyes because a child’s life flies by and the next thing you know, they are having children of their own. I know it feels that way because it was only yesterday when I had my little ones…and now they’re all growed up,  with families and lives of their own. It’s the one really big, probably only, regret I have about moving to Eureka, is leaving 99% of my family on the East Coast. My parents live in Corpus Christi,but it’s still far enough that we won’t see them, either. I’m so glad for Skype!

I continue to have puppy lust—sort of like baby lust, when a woman sees someone else’s baby and makes wistful eyes and cooing sounds, longing for one of her own (or remembering her own, depending on the age). I think babies are awfully cute, but I have zero desire to have another one. I’m finished with dirty diapers and midnight feedings and et cetera. But boy oh boy! do I want my own little puppy–and it would be a dog that wouldn’t weigh more than 4 pounds, since that’s about all I can handle. My own furry baby, to pet and hold and love on…I miss Harry, my Schipperke. As you can see, he was a fun dog!
BeachHarry0

It will be a while before I can actually get a dog. There’s the initial cost of supplies, buying the puppy and then of course there’s the ongoing maintenance costs. There’s also a small matter of “no pets” in our apartment. I can get the dog certified as an emotional support animal, which is very much a part of the reason I want one–and the landlord has to allow me to have him. So in the meantime, I go look at purebreds and shelter dogs–I don’t really care what the pedigree (or type) of dog so long as it’s tiny. All I can really find that would work really well are Pomeranians, which are godsawful expensive, or 7-8 year olds being thrown away at the pound. I’ll probably go with something I can find at the local shelter, but I do want a younger dog, preferably a puppy-aged one. Believe me, I’ll tell you all about him when I finally get him!

There’s not much else going on. I have an appointment today to have a manicure and this evening, Beloved and I go to a friend’s house to play Pathfinder–a  form of Dungeons and Dragons, or as I call it, “Make believe with other adults”. He gets to have pool therapy later on in the week; I’m hoping that the referral for acupuncture will come through. We’re on week 3 or 4 without any appointments. So that’s my life at the moment. I’ll be back eventually!

Namaste!

 

Leave a Reply

